Skip navigation

A Whole New World…..

As some of you might know, I’m ready to release some new material.  I’m very excited about it and I think you’re going to love it.  “Let it Shine” was slow to pick up steam, but after four years of still-growing sales and downloads and seven major network TV placements, I’m comfortable calling the album a big success.  But the industry has changed a lot in the last few years and I feel like I need to take a new approach as to how I release new music.

The general trends suggest that fans aren’t interested in physical CDs anymore.  I’ve been a holdout on this mentality but even I’m starting to change.  Downloads (at least in America) are the preferred method of buying music.  I’ve got a mountain of boxes of copies of “Let it Shine” in the attic that suggest that’s probably true.  As a fan who loves reading about an artist, seeing who played on what songs, who produced, engineered, wrote the tunes, etc, this is a sad shift.  But as an artist, this isn’t all bad news.  Since I’m recording everything at my own facility, Porter Avenue Studios, that means the biggest cost of recording an album has been the cost of CD duplication, graphic design for artwork, cover photography, printing and packaging, etc.  So….if there’s a way I can get my music to people without having to deal with all those costs, I have to start taking advantage of it.

With that in mind, let me tell you about some new ideas I’ve had that I’m going to begin implementing immediately:

Beginning next week I hope to release a “single”, one song only, as a digital download every six weeks or so.   Each of these singles will be available on itunes, amazon, rhapsody, napster and any other music service you may use.  After releasing several singles I hope to compile them into smaller “mini-albums”, EPs, for those of you, like me, who still need the real deal.  These will be special edition releases that will contain bonus material you can’t get from the website or by just downloading the individual singles. 

But it gets way cooler than that and here’s where I think the digital age might bring a new aspect to buying music that makes the whole experience way more fun:

Long before the singles are available online for download, there will be an opportunity to get the tunes in advance for free, and we’ll put it to the test this Friday, September 10th

On September 10th I will put my newest tune, “Remember Me” on a flash drive.  That flash drive will be hidden SOMEWHERE ON EARTH.  Friday morning I will post instructions on the Matt Martino Facebook Fan Page on where to locate the flash drive.  A treasure hunt!  And if you can get to it first, you’ll have the only version of the tune in existence (other than my own copy). 

I want to do something like this with every new release, and focusing more on “singles” is going to allow me to crank out a lot more tunes at a much faster pace.  Each time I come out with a new song, you’ll have an opportunity like this to have it as much as a month before it’s available for download.  We will likely start locally, with the first few flash drives being hidden right here in Nashville.  But if the idea is well received, we’ll expand it…..we can hide drives in different places…..maybe hide multiple drives in different locations. 

Also, I would like to incorporate some other cool things with the flash drives.  For example, maybe the flash drive will contain my newest song, as well as some random picture or text file with a message on it.  We’ll post instructions on how to find the flash drive on facebook, and the first person to get the drive, look at the picture or read the text file and post a comment revealing what it is…wins an additional prize.  Maybe free admittance into our next show.  Maybe an itunes gift card.  Maybe a 40 of Olde English.  Maybe their pick of a bunch of stuff. 

Lastly, the flash drives themselves will have value.  We’re still working out the details on this, but we want the flash drives themselves to be like a “VIP Badge” that gets you free stuff or special access to shows or new material.  More details on that down the road, but if you manage to get your hands on a drive, hang on to it.

So……this is how it begins.  Check Facebook this Friday for instructions on how to find the flash drive containing “Remember Me”.  We won’t make it too hard to find at first.  I want this to be fun.  It’s definitely been fun recording some new tunes and I’m anxious for them to be heard. 

Thanks everybody!  If you haven’t ‘liked’ me on facebook, better do it now!  And be sure to visit the facebook site this Friday for directions to the flash drive!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

