Skip navigation

Don’t Know What Ya Got ‘Til It’s Gone – Diesel Dick Hagglestein

 

"What we do in life echos in eternity"

 

Listen everyone, I don’t come down from my drinkin’ couch on the roof very often and when I do it’s only for something that’s pretty damned important.  Recently I’ve been getting a lot of questions regarding the Matt Martino Street Team.  Some of you want to know what you can do to help, some are wondering how your efforts will pay off and some of you want to know why you should join.  Now, for those of you who’ve heard the call to arms, joined the team and are looking for guidance or advice, not to worry, I understand your concerns and I’m here to help.  To those of you who are still wondering, “Why should I join?”, I say, “That’s an interesting question.”.  Here’s another interesting question, “Stop being such a dumbass.” 

Why should you join the Street Team?  I don’t know.  You just should.  Why does beer get you drunk?  Nobody knows.  It just does.  I can’t solve all of the mysteries of life.  You’ve got to seize the moment ’cause man, it’s just like, you don’t know what you got ‘til it’s gone.  Hell, everybody knows that and now you do too.  Ok, good.  Now that we’ve settled that let’s move onto more pressing matters.

For me it’s all about loyalty. 

The Stank blood that flows through my veins now is just as thick and red as it was back in the Pinch days.   I can’t stop. And if you’re still reading this then neither can you.  You don’t just stop doing something that has become part of your SOUL. Just ‘cause your sister’s roommate says your hair looks stupid doesn’t mean you go and cut it off.  You just can’t live your life like that.  If someone said, “Hey, you should stop breathing air cause it’s not cool anymore,” you wouldn’t stop and don’t act like you would cause you KNOW deep down inside that you wouldn’t. 

Remember when Rick put his ’87 Camaro into Old Man Foster’s pond?  (Not his ’83 Camaro, that was a totally different body of water.)  Well I do.  I was THERE.  We got out through the T-Top, swam to shore and were feeling pretty lucky, all in all, until he remembered his box of cassettes that was in the car.  Man, I’ll never forget the sick look on his face when he realized that.  Same look Polish Joe had in P.E. class sophomore year when a softball took a bad bounce and caught him square in the seeds.  So, what did he do?  Dove right back into that pond, face first into the seaweed and cow shit and swam down to the old ‘maro and came up with his collection intact.  They never sounded quite right after that but, that didn’t matter.  It’s about principle.  That cow shit lake isn’t taking Rick’s “Ride The Lightning” tape away and neither should you.  

I can’t tell you why your help is so essential.  You have your own unique strengths and talents that you bring to the table and as long as you keep your fist in the air and your ear to the grindstone you’ll do just fine.  In closing, the best things in life are worth fighting for and that’s why you have to be a member of the Street Team.  If you’re too completely OUT of your MIND to realize that this is your calling in life then you need help from someone bigger and better than me, like, Buddha or George Washington.  I can’t make it any clearer than this.

Hope this helped.  I gotta go practice karate in the carport. 

Diesel Dick Hagglestein

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

